In a field of 94 Veteran golfers from Mackay, Pioneer Valley, Sarina and Black Springs,  the Mackay Vets team slipped into the lead after the first round of the annual Veterans Interclub Competition, held at the Pioneer Valley Golf Course on Thursday, 9th May 2019.

Cecily Meng and Maureen Joyce (Mackay) heading out to play at Pioneer Valley Golf Course.

After a hiccup start with bad weather affecting the course and forcing a postponement, the Valley turned on perfect weather for the first round, and the course was in great condition in spite of the rain earlier in the month.
Mackay Vets took a team of 28 players to Pioneer Valley, determined to challenge the other clubs for the lead after this first round of the 2019 event, and some great scores were returned. Ken Kraatz and Greg Lingard both scored the highest score of the day – 39 points, and Alan Woodhead and Peter McCowan returned par scores of 36 points. The team’s total points (from the top 8 players) was 289, Glenn Jackson, Glynn Ford, Bob Byrnes and Neil Eggleton completing Mackay’s top eight.

Bob McKinstry & Colin Dunn (Black Springs) and Alan Woodhead (Mackay) on the final hole.

Just 4 points behind, the Pioneer Valley team of 23 players finished on 285, with three players returning scores better than par.  Sarina Vets fielded 22 players, Michael Lindeberg also shooting the 39 points top score of the day, but the remaining players were not able to provide the support needed to take over the top spot – they finished with 277 points.
The twenty players in the Black Springs team played hard, but couldn’t avoid the wooden spoon, in spite of their lead player, Rick Lebrun, also shooting the top score of the day. Black Springs score was 267.
However, this is only the first round of the 2019 four-series challenge between veterans in the four clubs, rounds at Mackay, Black Springs and finally Sarina yet to come.

Mackay Captain Greg Lingard celebrating Mackay’s success.

Mackay Vets will be hosting the next round on Monday 3rd June, so keep an eye out for the notice.
Both men and women play Single Stableford and the scores for the leading eight players from each club are added to calculate the day’s scores. At the end of the 4-event circuit, the club with the highest total score will be the winners of the trophy for 2019.
Black Springs won the trophy in 2018, Mackay coming in a close second. Can we turn the tables on Black Springs this year?