The Mackay & District Veteran Golfers Association was formed at a meeting in Mackay held on Wednesday, 3rd October 1984, with twelve people in attendance. There were a further nineteen apologies from intending members.
The first committee elected was:-

  • President – Leo Hartley
  • Vice President – Alan Mau
  • Secretary/Treasurer – Duncan Robertson
  • Captain – Harvey Robinson
  • Vice Captain – Albie Howard

In the beginning competitions were held monthly in Mackay, Sarina and Pioneer Valley on a rotational basis with every second competition being held at Mackay. This was later changed to the monthly competition being in Sarina and Pioneer Valley twice each year with all other competitions being played in Mackay.
The first competition was held at the Mackay Golf Club on Sunday, 11th November 1984 with the second competition being held at the Sarina Golf Club on Saturday, 15th December 1984 and the third competition being held at Pioneer Valley on Sunday, 10th February 1985.
In March 1987 Proserpine was invited to join the Mackay & District Veteran Golfers Association.
At the annual general meeting held on the 3rd August 1987 it was agreed to increase the number of veterans competitions by playing every second Monday. At this meeting it was also agreed to allow ladies to play in their own comp at the end of the men’s field.
In October 1987 application was made to the QVGU for approval to hold a Bicentennial Tournament in June/July 1988 which was approved. On the 21st January 1988 a special committee was formed to oversee the Mackay & District Bicentennial Tournament to be held in Mackay on 1st and 2nd August 1988.
The Bicentennial Tournament in August 1988 was the beginning of our annual Veterans Carnival at Mackay Golf Club, which is now known as the Wintersun Carnival. From 1989 to 1993 it was called the Mackay & District Veteran Golfers “Sunshine” Tournament which also included the Queensland Veteran Golfers Open State Championships in 1991.
The annual Carnival became known as the Wintersun Veteran Golfers Carnival in 1994 with the inclusion of Sarina, Pioneer Valley and Proserpine Veteran Golfers Clubs, so that now in August each year we have six days of veteran men and ladies golf competitions, culminating in the 72 hole “Wintersun” Championships in Mackay.
With the formation of their own Veteran Golfers Clubs at Sarina and Pioneer Valley, the Mackay & District Veteran Golfers Association consisted of three clubs as Proserpine had become a member of the Whitsunday Veteran Golfers Association. On the 30th October 2007 Black Springs Veteran Golfers’ application to join the District Association was approved.
In January 2017 the District Association agreed to hold an annual interclub competition between the four District Clubs, with each Club hosting one round of the competition which would be a stableford event and the eight best scores from each Club used to determine the winning Club after the four rounds. The trophy is called “The Mackay & District Veteran Golfers Shield.”