The Wintersun Legend.

For more than 20 years, The Wintersun Carnival has been offering veteran golfers holidaying in North Queensland the opportunity to experience the Mackay-Whitsunday region and join with local golfers to play the local courses of which we are justifiably proud.

Last year (2018) upward of 200 veteran golfers played one or more of the four courses that form part of the Carnival, culminating in two rounds at Mackay Golf Club to finalise the 72 Hole Wintersun Championships.

You can now nominate for Wintersun 2019 - go back to the Home page and click on the Nominate button.

Click on the buttons here to look at all the scores from 2018 and check the list of trophy winners for each event of the Carnival - or read a brief story about what happened in each event in the column below.

- Stories from Wintersun 2018 -

Ellis and Swadling Win Wintersun Championships.

Greg Ellis from Forster Tuncurry Golf Club led from start to finish to take out the 2018 Wintersun 72 Hole Championships, with Kay Swadling from Tamworth Golf Club taking out the Women's Championship. 

Greg Ellis with Vets Captain Greg Lingard

(left) Kay Swadling - Wintersun Champion

Ellis had rounds of 74, 74, 77 and 75 to finish on 300, sixteen shots ahead of the runner-up, Neil Morris from Mackay. Ellis was never headed from the first round at Proserpine, the only "blemish" being on the first day at Mackay, when the gusty winds made holding the greens difficult.

The race for Runner-up was a lot closer - Neil Morris (Mackay), Nick Pearse (Moranbah), John Bowron (Everglades) and Greg Lingard (Mackay) all being very much in the running, although Morris pulled ahead in the last round.

Kay Swadling held her nerve over the four rounds, while the challengers fell away, her four rounds of 34, 36, 34 and 33 stableford points meant a lead of 2 points over Shirley Porter (Hervey Bay) at the end of the event.

Jan Buckley - Mackay Classic Overall Winner

The lead fluctuated from round to round - Hazel McGregor from El Arish looked to be setting the measure after two great rounds in Proserpine, then following up with a win in Sarina. However, a forgettable round in Mackay let Shirley Porter (Hervey Bay - 106) and Swadling (104) move into the lead. A 33 points round on Tuesday was enough to let Swadling overtake Porter and win the Championships Trophy by two points.

Neil Morris - A Grade Winner Gross

In the graded events for Men, Nick Pearse won out for A Grade, Dale Perrins (275) led by 6 shots in B Grade and Alan Dwyer (Gordonvale - 370) finished 5 shots ahead of Bob Visentin (Hervey Bay) in C Grade. In the Nett competition in conjunction, Greg Lingard (276) kept his nose one shot ahead of another Mackay member, Robert Byrnes in A Grade, Dale Perrins (275) led Dennis Gawler (Coolangatta-Tweed -281) and Peter Corke (Gladstone - 289) in B Grade, and Bob Visentin (Hervey Bay - 275) finished 9 shots ahead of Alan Dwyer.

Bob Visentin - Nett Winner

In the women's 72 hole event, Soibhan Davies gained 41 points in Round 2 to finish tied with Gloria Davis on 133 points in the Division 1 event, Kay Swadling led Halina Beale by 6 points in Division 2 and Shirley Porter (135) just held off Nola Cowie (134) in Division 3.

As well as being the last two rounds of the Wintersun Championships, the two rounds in Mackay also made up the 36 Hole Mackay Classic. Not surprisingly, Greg Ellis is also the Mackay Classic Men's Champion, four shots ahead of Nick Pearse with another two shots to John Bowron. Dennis Gawler (172) won B Grade from Dale Perrins by one shot, and Geoffrey Nice led C Grade by a comfortable margin from Russell Buckley.

Bill Young, with a 66 on the last day, topped A Grade Nett on countback from Nick Pearse, Mark Peady, Greg Lingard, Robert Byrnes and John Bowron. Dennis Gawler with 64, 72, beat Dale Perrins (63, 74) in B Grade Nett and Phil Vaughan won C Grade Nett on countback with a 58 Nett (Yes that was 58!) on the last day.

Ann Fenton from won the Women's 36 Hole Division 1 event with 64 stableford points, nudging out Diane Holewa (Sarina), Gloria Davis (Nowra) and Soibhan Davies (Pelican Waters) by two points. Merilyn Olzard (Hervey Bay) with 69 points beat Halina Beale (Gladstone) by 1 point in Division 2 and Mackay's Janice Buckley held off the challengers in Division 3.

To round out the Carnival, winners and losers (although many consider that all participants were winners) celebrated Wintersun at the Mackay Golf Club on Tuesday night. You can find more details of the scores and trophy winners by clicking the buttons above.

Friday Great in the Valley

On Friday, around 100 veteran golfers headed west up the Pioneer River valley to the township of Mirani, to sample the delights of one of the best 18 hole country town golf courses - the Pioneer Valley Golf Club.

Host club member, Jim Bartolo took the honours of best score of the day in the Men's event with 39 Stableford Points, 2 points ahead of five visitors all on 37.

The leaders in the women's event shot some impressive scores, Trish George from Georgetown taking the lead with 46 Stableford Points from Barbara Chrzanowski (Sarina) on 44 points.

A full list of the scores and Trophy Winners can be found by clicking the buttons above.

In the Winter's Sun at Sarina

Over 100 veteran golfers took to the fairways of Sarina on Thursday in perfect conditions for a fun round of golf. Champion Man of the day was  Greg Chrzanowski, from the host club, his 44 Stableford Points being 5 shots ahead of three other players.

Hazel McGregor from El Arish Club seems to be making winning a habit, being the champion woman player again, with 38 Stableford Points ahead of Sarina's Pam Lindeberg.

All the results and scores for Sarina are available - click the buttons above.

Visitors Take the Lead after First Event of Wintersun

Greg Ellis from Forster-Tuncurry Club and Hazel McGregor from El Arish Club have taken the leads in the Wintersun Championships following the completion of the first two rounds at Proserpine Golf Club.

Nearly 130 Veteran Golfers took to the fairways of Proserpine Golf Club, on the doorstep of the Whitsundays, for the first two rounds of the annual Wintersun Golfing Carnival.

Ellis, who plays off a handicap of 1 and won the Championships two years ago, shot to the lead with 2 rounds of 74 off-the-stick, finishing eight shots ahead of Neil Morris from Mackay.

Meanwhile, Hazel McGregor led the Women's event with rounds of 37 and 38 stableford points to go into the next round with a two point lead over Rehab Hull from the host club, Proserpine.

Proserpine Classic Champions Greg Ellis and Hazel McGregor receiving their trophies from Vets Captain John Grosskruetz, surrounded by some of the other happy trophy winners.

You can find all the Trophy Winners and the full scores for this Proserpine by clicking on the buttons above.

One group taking advantage of the beautiful golfing conditions at Proserpine - Lex Flack & Alan Woodhead watching on in awe as Bill Eccles hits off on the 9th Tee.

Wintersun has been providing a friendly North Queensland golfing experience to veteran golfers for 24 years, and has welcomed players from clubs up and down the east coast.